By Kimberly Kahl, Executive Director, Yuma County Chamber of Commerce



Alberta Newspaper Group


For over 30 years, the Yuma County Chamber of Commerce has been the proud licensee for the prestigious ATHENA International Award® recognizing outstanding Yuma County residents. The ATHENA International Award® recognizes individuals who demonstrate excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business or profession; provide valuable service by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community; and actively assist women in realizing their full leadership potential. They contribute to leadership through 8 qualities: authentic self, relationships, giving back, collaboration, courageous acts, learn-generous sponsorship from the National Bank of Arizona, the Chamber is once again seeking nominations for this award. The internationally-recognized ATHENA Award® Program was founded in 1982. The award was originally established to honor the achievements of exceptional women leaders but has more recently opened to men as well. More importantly, it was established to inspire others to achieve excellence in their professional and business lives. Since 1982, more than 6,700 top leaders in over 500 communities have received the prestigious ATHENA Award® in the United States, Bermuda, Canada, China, Greece, India, Russia, United Arab Emirates, and United Kingdom. By honoring exceptional leaders, the ATHENA Award® Program seeks to inspire others to achieve excellence in their professional and personal lives. The Yuma County Chamber of Commerce’s 2020 recipient, Lori Stofft, was recognized wtih a virtual ceremony in May 2021 and again at our Annual Dinner in March 2022. Stofft joined an incredible group of recepients including: • Shelley Mellon • Linda Elliott-Nelson • Gladys Brown • Terre Catanzaro • Tawnee Miller • Julie Engel • Janet Jones • Chandra Olague • RoseMary Jose Castro • Mayra Garlit • Debbie Manshiem • Sharon Gardner • Judy Gresser • Machele Headington • Donna Phipps • Ronna Sue Stubbs • Kathy Watson • Linda Cook • Amanda Aguirre • Julie Fritz Feinberg • Dr. Elnadry • Susan Bell • Nancy Gerdler • Beverly Frame • Kathy Bierl • Doreen Lewis Our 2021 recipient will be recognized with a special Good Morning Yuma! program on Thursday, September 8. Nominations will be accepted through Wednesday, June 15. The nomination form can be found on the Chamber website,